2021 University IT Awards winners announced

18 January 2021

The online awards ceremony for the University IT Awards 2021

Following the success of the inaugural awards in 2015, we were very pleased to support the scheme for its seventh year in 2021. The awards were created to recognise outstanding undergraduate and postgraduate IT students within the UK.  In doing so, we hope to encourage students to pursue careers in IT, foster an entrepreneurial and charitable ethos among those students, and, more pragmatically, to give financial help to students on IT courses.

Criteria for the award included academic excellence, overcoming adversity, entrepreneurial skills, and contribution to charity or community. This year’s judging panel consisted of the Master Information Technologist (Mr Mark Holford), Alderman and Sheriff of the City of London (Professor Michael Mainelli), the Master Educator (Mr Richard Evans), WCIT Charity Chair & Past Master (Dr Stefan Fafinski), Chair of WCIT Charitable Operations Committee (Mr Richard Pone) and the WCIT Clerk (Mrs Susan Hoefling).  Five universities made the shortlist for the final: University of Northampton, University of Warwick, the Open University, University of Hertfordshire and Cambridge University.

The winners were announced at a virtual awards ceremony on 17 February:-

Gold awardJohn Cross, University of Northampton
Silver awardSamuel Ward, University of Warwick
Bronze awardRoman Toengi, the Open University
Manuel Gomes Rosmaninho, University of Hertfordshire
Honourable mentionDaniel Carter, Cambridge University

Congratulations to all our winners!

John CrossSamuel WardManuel Gomes RosmaninhoRoman Toengi with his Bronze Award